Divisional Advisors

Divisional Advisors are faculty associates of a residential college who are selected and engaged by College Magisters and the OAA to provide academic advising to you prior to your declaring a major. Each Divisional Advisor…

  • Serves their residential college by representing one of the four major undergraduate academic divisions*:
    • humanities
    • social sciences
    • natural sciences
    • engineering
  • Is trained by and works closely with the Office of Academic Advising (OAA) to keep up to date on academic rules and regulations, graduation requirements, educational opportunities, academic resources, and other important or time-sensitive information.
  • Can advise you on a wide range of topics including personal interests, course choices, short and long term plans, and co-curricular opportunities, to name a few.
  • Has tremendous knowledge, insights, and experiences to share, but does not have expertise in all majors, so they will often also refer students to Major Advisors in academic departments or advisors in collaborative offices across campus.

*Due to their smaller size, the Schools of Architecture and Music have specific advisors within their respective schools and Business advisors serve multiple colleges.

Divisional Advisors 2022-2023

Baker College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Su Chen Engineering Data to Knowledge Program su.chen 2051 Duncan Hall
Kalil Erazo Engineering Civil & Environmental Engineering 3798 kalil.erazo
Maria Stasevicius Humanities Center for Languages and Intercultural Communication 5844 mls17 224 Rayzor
Scott Solomon Natural Sciences BioSciences 2661 scott.solomon 103D Anderson Biological Laboratories
Bobby Beaird Natural Sciences Physics & Astronomy 2971 robert.p.beaird 239 Brockman Hall
James DeNicco Social Sciences Economics 3899 james.denicco 437 Kraft Hall
Tom Stallings Social Sciences Sport Management 5764 tstallings S205I Tudor Fieldhouse

Brown College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Sabia Abidi Engineering Bioengineering 8362 sabia.z.abidi B24 Ryon
James Long Engineering Bioengineering james.long
Gisela Heffes Humanities Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies 2709 gisela.heffes 314 Rayzor Hall
Christopher Johns-Krull Natural Sciences Physics & Astronomy 3531 cmj 352 Herman Brown Hall
Caroline McNeil Natural Sciences Chemistry 4478 cvmcneil 241 Dell Butcher Hall
Bart Moore Social Sciences Cognitive Sciences bart4
Leslie Schwindt-Bayer Social Sciences Political Science 2669 schwindt 107 Herzstein

Duncan College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Arko Barman Engineering Data to Knowledge Program arko.barman 1036 Duncan Hall
Mack Joyner Engineering Computer Science 4397 mjoyner 2063 Duncan Hall
Ian Schimmel Humanities English 4325 ianschimmel 236 Herring Hall
Sylvia Dee Natural Sciences Earth, Environmental, & Planetary Sciences 4889 sylvia.dee 313 Keith-Wiess Geology Lab
Stephen (Steve) Wang Natural Sciences Mathematics 3467 sswang 410 Herman Brown Hall
Suzanne Kemmer Social Sciences Linguistics 6225 kemmer 209 Herring Hall
Anna Rhodes Social Sciences Sociology 4456 anna.rhodes 257 Kraft Hall

Hanszen College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
John Greiner Engineering Computer Science 3838 greiner 3093 Duncan Hall
Matthew Wettergreen Engineering Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen 2043 mwettergreen B03 Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen
Amanda Johnson Humanities English amanda.l.johnson 326 Herring Hall
Edison P. Liang Natural Sciences Physics & Astronomy 3524 liang 342 Herman Brown Hall
Lam Yu Natural Sciences Physics & Astronomy 2894 lhyu 240 Brockman Hall
Bryan Denny Social Sciences Psychological Sciences 8257 bryan.denny 761 Bioscience Research Collaborative
Songying Fang Social Sciences Political Science 4661 sfang 114 Herzstein Hall

Jones College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Gene Frantz Engineering Electrical and Computer Engineering 2839 genf 2077 Duncan Hall
Bilal Ghosn Engineering Bioengineering 2648 bghosn 231 Bioscience Research Collaborative
Fay Yarbrough Humanities History 2780 fayann 319 Humanities
Barry Dunning Natural Sciences Physics & Astronomy 3544 fbd 320 Brockman Hall
Dereth Phillips Natural Sciences BioSciences 2343 derethp 101C Anderson Biological Laboratories
Michael Byrne Social Sciences Psychological Sciences 3770 byrne 211B Sewall Hall
Richard Stoll Social Sciences Political Science 3362 stoll 120 Herzstein Hall

Lovett College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Lisa Biswal Engineering Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering 6055 biswal E207 George R. Brown Hall
Vicky Yao Engineering Computer Science vy 2070 Duncan Hall
Anne Chao Humanities History 3163 annechao 530 Fondren Library
Mike Gustin Natural Sciences BioSciences 5158 gustin W200G George R. Brown Hall
George Phillips Natural Sciences BioSciences 6951 georgep 717 BioScience Research Collaborative
Nina Bobkova Social Sciences Economics nina.bobkova 416 Kraft Hall
Chris Fagundes Social Sciences Psychological Sciences 2184 christopher.fagundes 1020E BioScience Research Collaborative

Martel College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Michael Diehl Engineering Bioengineering 4568 diehl 515 BioScience Research Collaborative
Hanyu Zhu Engineering Materials Science & Nanoengineering 2582 hanyu.zhu E200J George R. Brown Hall
Leo Costello Humanities Art History 3472 lcostell 107 Herring Hall
Anthony Chan Natural Sciences Physics & Astronomy 2531 aachan 308 Herman Brown Hall
Andrea Isella Natural Sciences Physics & Astronomy 5491 isella 354 Herman Brown Hall
Gokce Gunel Social Sciences Anthropology gg15 584 Sewall Hall
Jing Li Social Sciences Sociology 2187 jingli 262 Kraft Hall

McMurtry College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Geoff Wehmeyer Engineering Mechanical Engineering geoff.wehmeyer 213 Mechanical Engineering
Gary Woods Engineering Electrical & Computer Engineering 3599 gary.woods 2097 Duncan Hall
Emily Houlik-Ritchey Humanities English 2625 emily.houlik-ritchey 235 Herring Hall
Laura Kabiri Natural Sciences Kinesiology 2012 laura.kabiri S203K Tudor Fieldhouse
Krista Kobylianskii Natural Sciences Chemistry 4083 kristakobyl 242 Dell Butcher Hall
Sergio Chavez Social Sciences Sociology 5783 sc31 254 Kraft Hall
Jonathan Homola Social Sciences Political Science jh101 108 Herzstein

Sid Richardson College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
David Trevas Engineering Mechanical Engineering dat7 3129 Duncan Hall
Rafael Verduzco Engineering Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering 6492 rafaelv 212 Keck Hall
David Messmer Humanities Program in Writing and Communication 5394 dmessmer 419 Fondren
Lesa Tran Lu Natural Sciences Chemistry/Institute of Biosciences and Bioengineering 4079 lesa 173 BioScience Research Collaborative
Augusto Rodriguez Natural Sciences Kinesiology 8817 augusto.x.rodriguez S203F Tudor Fieldhouse
Diane Crossey Social Sciences Sport Management 5769 diane.crossey S205B Tudor Fieldhouse
Chase Lesane-Brown Social Sciences Psychological Sciences chaselb 474 Sewall Hall

Wiess College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Renata Ramos Engineering Bioengineering 2203 renata.ramos 1011 Duncan Hall
Rebecca Schreib Engineering Computer Science rjs 2064 Duncan Hall
Esther Fernandez Humanities Spanish, Portuguese & Latin American Studies 5403 esther.fernandez 228 Rayzor Hall
Betul Orcan-Ekmekci Natural Sciences Mathematics orcan 440 Herman Brown Hall
Daniel Wagner Natural Sciences BioSciences 5933 dswagner 351 Anderson Biological Laboratories
Mallesh Pai Social Sciences Economics 2289 mallesh.pai 414 Kraft Hall
Carissa Zimmerman Social Sciences Psychological Sciences 3413 caz3 472 Sewall Hall

Will Rice College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Daniel Cohan Engineering Civil & Environmental Engineering 5129 cohan 116B Keck Hall
Joseph Young Engineering Electrical & Computer Engineering joseph.young 2098 Duncan Hall
Astrid Oesmann Humanities Modern & Classical Literatures and Cultures 3564 astrid.oesmann 327 Rayzor
Cassidy Johnson Natural Sciences BioSciences 4913 cbj5145 104B Anderson Biological Laboratories
Ken Whitmire Natural Sciences Chemistry 5650 whitmir 351 Dell Butcher Hall
Michele Biavati Social Sciences Economics 2354 michele.biavati 420 Kraft Hall
Sandra Parsons Social Sciences Psychological Sciences 4808 sandra.v.parsons 452 Sewall Hall

Architecture (All Colleges)
Name School Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Reto Geiser Architecture 3377 reto.geiser 226 Anderson Hall
Jenny Judge Architecture 2941 judge 209 Anderson Hall

Music (All Colleges)
Name School Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Geoffrey Scott Music 3032 geoffrey.scott 2235 Alice Pratt Brown Hall

Business
Name Colleges Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Ben Lansford Lovett, Duncan, Sid Richardson 2347 lansford 266 McNair Hall
Natalia Piqueira Brown, Jones, Martel natalia.piqueira 234 McNair Hall
K. Ramesh Baker, McMurtry 5380 rameshk 350 McNair Hall
Jeff Russell Hanszen, Wiess, Will Rice 2549 jeff.russell 223 McNair Hall

HOURS

Monday - Friday

8:30 am - 12:00 pm

1:00 pm - 5:00 pm 

 

Phone | 713.348.4060

Email | aadv@rice.edu

ADDRESS

Office of Academic Advising MS-529

Rice University, Ley Student Center, Suite 132

6100 Main Street

Houston, TX 77005