Divisional Advisors

Divisional Advisors are faculty associates of a residential college who are selected and engaged by College Magisters and the OAA to provide academic advising to you prior to your declaring a major. Each Divisional Advisor…

  • Serves their residential college by representing one of the four major undergraduate academic divisions*:
    • humanities
    • social sciences
    • natural sciences
    • engineering
  • Is trained by and works closely with the Office of Academic Advising (OAA) to keep up to date on academic rules and regulations, graduation requirements, educational opportunities, academic resources, and other important or time-sensitive information.
  • Can advise you on a wide range of topics including personal interests, course choices, short and long term plans, and co-curricular opportunities, to name a few.
  • Has tremendous knowledge, insights, and experiences to share, but does not have expertise in all majors, so they will often also refer students to Major Advisors in academic departments or advisors in collaborative offices across campus.

*Due to their smaller size, the Schools of Architecture and Music have specific advisors within their respective schools and Business advisors serve multiple colleges.

Divisional Advisors 2021-2022

Baker College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Matt Elliott Engineering Mechanical Engineering 2082 me26 230 Mechanical Engineering Building
Luziris Pineda Turi Humanities Center for Languages and Intercultural Communication 5844 lpturi 337 Rayzor Hall
Scott Solomon Natural Sciences Biochemistry and Cell Biology 3498 scott.solomon 103D Anderson Biological Lab
James DeNicco Social Sciences Economics 3899 james.denicco 255 Baker Hall

Brown College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Elizabeth Jennings McGuffey Engineering Statistics 3859 elizabeth.mcguffey 111 Maxfield Hall
Gisela Heffes Humanities Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies 2709 gisela.heffes 314 Rayzor Hall
Christopher Johns-Krull Natural Sciences Physics and Astronomy 3531 cmj 330 Herman Brown Hall
Mallesh Pai Social Sciences Economics 2289 mallesh.pai 414 Kraft Hall

Duncan College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Mack Joyner Engineering Computer Science 4397 mjoyner 2071 Duncan Hall
Ian Schimmel Humanities English 4325 ianschimmel 236 Herring Hall
Sylvia Dee Natural Sciences Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences 4889 sylvia.dee 313 Keith-Wiess Geology Lab
Matthew Hayes Social Sciences Political Science 2109 matthew.hayes 115 Herzstein Hall

Hanszen College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Matthew Wettergreen Engineering Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen 2043 mwettergreen B03 Oshman Engr. Design Kitchen
Lan Li Humanities History/Medical Humanities 2886 LL 307 Humanities Building
Edison P. Liang Natural Sciences Physics and Astronomy 3524 liang 214 Herman Brown Hall
Songying Fang Social Sciences Political Science 4661 sfang 114 Herzstein Hall

Jones College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Gene Frantz Engineering Electrical and Computer Engineering 2839 genf A207 Abercrombie Lab
Fay Yarbrough Humanities History 2780 fayann 319 Humanities Building
Barry Dunning Natural Sciences Physics and Astronomy 3544 fbd 320 Brockman Hall
Richard Stoll Social Sciences Political Science 3362 stoll 120 Herzstein Hall

Lovett College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Lisa Biswal Engineering Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 6055 biswal E207 George R. Brown Hall
Anne Chao Humanities History 3163 annechao 530 Fondren Library
George Phillips Natural Sciences BioSciences 6951 georgep 717 BioSciences Research Collab.
Paul Treacy Social Sciences Social Policy Analysis treacy

Martel College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Ray Simar Engineering Electrical and Computer Engineering 2257 ray.simar A208 Abercrombie Lab
Leo Costello Humanities Art History 3472 lcostell 107 Herring Hall
Anthony Chan Natural Sciences Physics and Astronomy 2531 aachan 364 Herman Brown
Gokce Gunel Social Sciences Anthropology gg15 584 Sewall Hall

McMurtry College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Gary Woods Engineering Electrical and Computer Engineering 3599 gary.woods A209 Abercrombie Lab
Emily Houlik-Ritchey Humanities English 2625 emily.houlik-ritchey 235 Herring Hall
Laura Kabiri Natural Sciences Kinesiology 2012 laura.kabiri S203 Tudor Field House
Ozge Gurcanli Social Sciences Psychology 4764 ozge.gurcanli 456 Sewall Hall

Sid Richardson College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Rafael Verduzco Engineering Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 6492 rafaelv 212 Keck Hall
David Messmer Humanities Program in Writing and Communication 7703 dmessmer 419 Fondren
Lesa Tran Lu Natural Sciences Chemistry 4079 lesa 142 Dell Butcher Hall
Melissa Marschall Social Sciences Political Science 2694 marschal 102 Herzstein Hall

Wiess College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Renata Ramos Engineering Bioengineering 2203 renata.ramos 111A Ryon Engineering Lab
Esther Fernandez Humanities Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies 5403 esther.fernandez 312 Rayzor Hall
Daniel Wagner Natural Sciences BioSciences 5933 dswagner 351 Anderson Biological Lab
Carissa Zimmerman Social Sciences Psychological Sciences 3413 caz3 472 Sewall Hall

Will Rice College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Marya Cokar Engineering Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 4073 marya.cokar B218 Abercrombie Lab
Lora Wildenthal Humanities History 3526 wildenth 116 Humanities Building
Alma Novotny Natural Sciences Biochemistry and Cell Biology 3497 novotnya W100E George R. Brown Hall
Sandra Parsons Social Sciences Psychology 4789 sandra.v.parsons 452 Sewall Hall

Architecture (All Colleges)
Name School Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Reto Geiser Architecture 3377 reto.geiser 226 Anderson Hall
Jenny Judge Architecture 2941 judge 223 Anderson Hall

Music (All Colleges)
Name School Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Geoffrey Scott Music 3032 geoffrey.scott 2235 Alice Pratt Brown Hall

Business
Name Colleges Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Alex Butler Baker, Will Rice 6341 alex.butler 357 McNair Hall
Natalia Piqueira Brown, Jones, Martel 6054 natalia.piqueira McNair Hall
Danielle Riley Lovett, Duncan, McMurtry 2063 danielle.n.riley 132 McNair Hall
Jeff Russell Hanszen, Wiess, Sid Richardson 2549 jeff.russell 223 McNair Hall

Office | Ley Student Center, Suite 132

Click here to schedule an appointment with an OAA advisor.

Phone | 713.348.4060, 713.348.2637

Email | aadv@rice.edu