Divisional Advisors

Divisional Advisors are faculty associates of a residential college who are selected and engaged by College Magisters and the OAA to provide academic advising to you prior to your declaring a major. Each Divisional Advisor…

  • Serves their residential college by representing one of the four major undergraduate academic divisions*:
    • humanities
    • social sciences
    • natural sciences
    • engineering
  • Is trained by and works closely with the Office of Academic Advising (OAA) to keep up to date on academic rules and regulations, graduation requirements, educational opportunities, academic resources, and other important or time-sensitive information.
  • Can advise you on a wide range of topics including personal interests, course choices, short and long term plans, and co-curricular opportunities, to name a few.
  • Has tremendous knowledge, insights, and experiences to share, but does not have expertise in all majors, so they will often also refer students to Major Advisors in academic departments or advisors in collaborative offices across campus.

*Due to their smaller size, the Schools of Architecture and Music have specific advisors within their respective schools.

Divisional Advisors 2019-2020

Baker College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Matt Elliott Engineering Mechanical Engineering 2082 me26 230 Mechanical Engineering Building
Luziris Pineda Turi Humanities Center for Languages and Intercultural Communication 5844 lpturi 337 Rayzor Hall
David Caprette Natural Sciences Biochemistry and Cell Biology 3498 caprette 211A Anderson Biological Lab
James DeNicco Social Sciences Economics 3899 james.denicco 255 Baker Hall

Brown College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Eleazar Marquez Engineering Mechanical Engineering 3318 eleazar.marquez 203 Mechanical Engineering Bldg.
Gisela Heffes Humanities Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies 2709 gisela.heffes 314 Rayzor Hall
Christopher Johns-Krull Natural Sciences Physics and Astronomy 3531 cmj 352 Herman Brown Hall
Leslie Schwindt-Bayer Social Sciences Political Science 2699 schwindt 107 Herzstein Hall

Duncan College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Gary Woods Engineering Electrical and Computer Engineering 3599 gary.woods A225 Abercrombie Lab
Melissa Weininger Humanities Jewish Studies 3219 mirele 321 Rayzor Hall
Michelle Gilbertson Natural Sciences Chemistry 2357 mlg7 146 Dell Butcher Hall
Eden King Social Sciences Psychology 3910 eden.b.king 429C Sewall Hall

Hanszen College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Matthew Wettergreen Engineering Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen 2043 mwettergreen B03 Oshman Engr. Design Kitchen
Sophie Esch Humanities Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies 3667 sophie.esch 333 Rayzor Hall
Edison P. Liang Natural Sciences Physics and Astronomy 3524 liang 214 Herman Brown Hall
Songying Fang Social Sciences Political Science 4661 sfang 114 Herzstein Hall

Jones College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Gene Frantz Engineering Electrical and Computer Engineering 2839 genf A207 Abercrombie Lab
Ian Schimmel Humanities English 4325 ianschimmel 236 Herring Hall
Barry Dunning Natural Sciences Physics and Astronomy 3544 fbd 320 Brockman Hall
Richard Stoll Social Sciences Political Science 3362 stoll 120 Herzstein Hall

Lovett College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Lisa Biswall Engineering Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 6055 biswal E207 George R. Brown Hall
Anne Chao Humanities History 3163 annechao 530 Fondren Library
George Phillips Natural Sciences BioSciences 6951 georgep 717 BioSciences Research Collab.
Jeff Fleisher Social Sciences Anthropology 3482 jfleisher 582 Sewall Hall

Martel College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Ray Simar Engineering Electrical and Computer Engineering 2257 ray.simar A208 Abercrombie Lab
Leo Costello Humanities Art History 3472 lcostell 107 Herring Hall
Anthony Chan Natural Sciences Physics and Astronomy 2531 aachan 364 Herman Brown
Robert Werth Social Sciences Sociology 4585 rwerth 372 Sewall Hall

McMurtry College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Christopher Jermaine Engineering Computer Science 5690 cmj4 3011 Duncan Hall
Emily Houlik-Ritchey Humanities English 2625 emily.houlik-ritchey 235 Herring Hall
Laura Kabiri Natural Sciences Kinesiology 2012 laura.kabiri S203 Tudor Field House
Ozge Gurcanli Social Sciences Psychology 4764 ozge.gurcanli 456 Sewall Hall

Sid Richardson College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Rafael Verduzco Engineering Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 6492 rafaelv 212 Keck Hall
David Messmer Humanities Program in Writing and Communication 7703 dmessmer 419 Fondren
Lesa Tran Lu Natural Sciences Chemistry 4079 lesa 142 Dell Butcher Hall
Melissa Marschall Social Sciences Political Science 2694 marschal 102 Herzstein Hall

Wiess College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Renata Ramos Engineering Bioengineering 2203 renata.ramos 111A Ryon Engineering Lab
Esther Fernandez Humanities Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies 5403 esther.fernandez 312 Rayzor Hall
Daniel Wagner Natural Sciences Biochemistry and Cell Biology 5933 dswagner 338 Anderson Biological Lab
Carissa Zimmerman Social Sciences Psychological Sciences 3413 caz3 452 Sewall Hall

Will Rice College
Name Division Department Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Marya Cokar Engineering Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 4073 marya.cokar B218 Abercrombie Lab
Lora Wildenthal Humanities History 3526 wildenth 116 Humanities Building
Alma Novotny Natural Sciences Biochemistry and Cell Biology 3497 novotnya W100E George R. Brown Hall
Sandra Parsons Social Sciences Psychology 4789 sandra.v.parsons 452 Sewall Hall

Architecture (All Colleges)
Name School Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Reto Geiser Architecture 3377 reto.geiser 223 Anderson Hall
Jenny Judge Architecture 4864 jennifer.n.judge 100 Anderson Hall

Music (All Colleges)
Name School Phone Email (@rice.edu) Office
Gary Smith Music 4047 gasmith 2229 Alice Pratt Brown Hall
Geoffrey Scott Music 3032 geoffrey.scott 2235 Alice Pratt Brown Hall

Office | Ley Student Center, Suite 132

Phone | 713.348.4060

Email | aadv@rice.edu