Minor and Certificate Advisors

(last updated 07/14/2022)

Minor and certificate advisors represent their respective academic departments or disciplines and are intimately familiar with specific minor requirements. They have the most current knowledge of discipline-specific information such as:

  • course offerings
  • curricular sequence
  • independent study projects
  • research and internships
  • professional organizations
  • current trends
  • graduate schools
  • careers related to the field

We strongly recommend that students communicate frequently with minor advisors, even prior to declaring a minor, so they can make informed decisions. Feel free to reach out to any minor advisor at any time. You may declare a minor only after declaring a major, and we encourage you to meet with your major and minor advisors each semester.

Minor and Certificate Advisors 2022-2023

African and African American Studies
Daniel Domingues domingues@rice.edu 304 Humanities
Anthropology
Mary Prendergrast mary@rice.edu 590 Sewall Hall
Art History
Lida Oukaderova lida.oukaderova@rice.edu 251B Herring Hall
Asian Studies
Steven Lewis swlewis@rice.edu 224 Baker Hall
Astronomy
Patrick Hartigan hartigan@rice.edu 350 Herman Brown Hall
Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Kate Beckingham
(A-H)
kate@rice.edu W130 George R. Brown Hall
Jamie Catanese
(I-P)
djc98@rice.edu 103A Anderson Biological Laboratories
Charles Stewart
(Q-Z)
crs@rice.edu W104 George R. Brown Hall
Business
Danielle Riley danielle.n.riley@rice.edu 132 McNair Hall
Cinema and Media Studies
Martin Blumenthal-Barby martin.blumenthal-barby@rice.edu 330 Rayzor Hall
Lida Oukaderova lida.oukaderova@rice.edu 251B Herring Hall
Civic Leadership - Certificate Program
Danika Brown dmb8@rice.edu 208 Rice Memorial Center
Morgan Kinney mbk3@rice.edu 208 Rice Memorial Center
Classical Civilizations
Hilary Mackie mackie@rice.edu 233 Rayzor Hall
Computational and Applied Mathematics
Jesse Chan jesse.chan@rice.edu 3023 Duncan Hall
Andrew Schaefer andrew.schaefer@rice.edu 2036 Duncan Hall
Data Science
Elizabeth Petrick
(for Humanities majors)
elizabeth.petrick@rice.edu 324 Humanities Building
Su Chen
(for Social Sciences, CAAM, BIOE, CHBE majors)
sc131@rice.edu 2051 Duncan Hall
Arko Barman
(for MECH, MSNE, CEVE majors)
arko.barman@rice.edu 1036 Duncan Hall
Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences
Sylvia Dee (Environmental) sylvia.dee@rice.edu 313 Keith-Wiess Geological Lab
Melodie French (Geoscience, Planetary) mefrench@rice.edu 203 Keith-Wiess Geological Lab
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Scott Solomon scott.solomon@rice.edu 103D Anderson Biological Laboratories
Energy and Water Sustainability
Jorge Loyo jorge.loyo@rice.edu 203-06 Lovett Hall
Engineering Design
Joseph Cavallaro cavallar@rice.edu 3042 Duncan Hall
Deirdre Hunter hunterd@rice.edu B14 Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen
Maria Oden moden@rice.edu 107 Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen
Matthew Wettergreen mwettergreen@rice.edu B03 Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen
Gary Woods gary.woods@rice.edu 2097 Duncan Hall
Entrepreneurship
Micaela McGlone mmm20@rice.edu Cambridge Office Building
Environmental Studies
Joseph Campana campana@rice.edu 315 Herring Hall
Richard Johnson rrj@rice.edu 117 Facilities
Financial Computation and Modeling
John Dobelman dobleman@rice.edu 2100 Duncan Hall
Mahmoud El-Gamal elgamal@rice.edu 429 Kraft Hall
Kathy Ensor ensor@rice.edu 2080 Duncan Hall
French Studies
Philip Wood prw@rice.edu 212 Rayzor Hall
German Studies
Astrid Oesmann astrid.oesmann@rice.edu 327 Rayzor Hall
Global Health Technologies
Meaghan Bond meaghan.mc.bond@rice.edu 517 BioScience Research Collaborative
Yvette Mirabal ymirabal@rice.edu 920 BioScience Research Collaborative
Ashley Taylor ashley.r.taylor@rice.edu 917 BioScience Research Collaborative
Greek Language and Literature
Hilary Mackie mackie@rice.edu 233 Rayzor Hall
Jewish Studies
Joshua Furman joshua.furman@rice.edu 418 Fondren Library
Matthias Henze mhenze@rice.edu 205 Humanities
Languages & Intercultural Communication
Hossam Elsherbiny he9@rice.edu 221 Rayzor Hall
Latin Language and Literature
Hilary Mackie mackie@rice.edu 233 Rayzor Hall
Mathematics
Zhiyong Gao zgao@rice.edu 416 Herman Brown Hall
Frank Jones fjones@rice.edu 448 Herman Brown Hall
Betul Orcan orcan@rice.edu 440 Herman Brown Hall
Stephen Semmes semmes@rice.edu 414 Herman Brown Hall
Stephen Wang sswang@rice.edu 410 Herman Brown Hall
Medical Humanities
Kirsten Ostherr
kostherr@rice.edu 313 Herring Hall
Medieval and Early Modern Studies
Maya Soifer Irish maya.s.irish@rice.edu 311 Humanities
Museums and Cultural Heritage
Farès el-Dahdah fdahdah@rice.edu 117 Herring Hall
Fabiola Lopez-Duran fld@rice.edu 120 Herring Hall
Naval Sciences
Captain Daniel Collins daniel.w.collins@rice.edu 216B Annex
Lieutenant Emily Konoza emily.m.konoza@rice.edu 216B Annex
Major Eric Kroeger erkroeger@rice.edu 216B Annex
Lieutenant Adam Winters adam.winters@rice.edu 216B Annex
Neuroscience
Jon Flynn flynn@rice.edu 103B Anderson Biological Laboratories
Nele Lefeldt nele.lefeldt@rice.edu 104C Anderson Biological Laboratories
Peter Lwigale lwigale@rice.edu 371 Anderson Biological Laboratories
Cana Ross cana.ross@rice.edu 101A Anderson Biological Laboratories
Physics & Astronomy
Stan Dodds dodds@rice.edu 215 Herzstein Hall
Politics, Law, and Social Thought
Peter Caldwell caldwell@rice.edu 336 Humanities
Poverty, Justice, and Human Capabilities
Moramay Lopez Alonso moramay@rice.edu 313 Humanities
Diana Strassmann dls@rice.edu 111 Humanities
Kerry Ward kward@rice.edu 312 Humanities
Religion
David Cook dbcook@rice.edu 211 Humanities
Rice Center for Engineering Leadership (RCEL) - Certificate Program
Kaz Karwowski kazimir.i.karwowski@rice.edu 2103 Duncan Hall
Sociology
Sergio Chavez sergio.chavez@rice.edu 254 Kraft Hall
Spanish and Portuguese
Esther Fernandez esther.fernandez@rice.edu 312 Rayzor Hall
Statistics
Elizabeth McGuffey elizabeth.mcguffey@rice.edu 111 Maxfield Hall
Study of Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Emily Houlik-Ritchey emily.houlik-ritchey@rice.edu 235 Herring Hall
Teaching Certification Program (Secondary Education)
Judy Radigan jradigan@rice.edu 335 Anderson-Clarke

HOURS

Monday - Friday

8:30 am - 12:00 pm

1:00 pm - 5:00 pm 

 

Phone | 713.348.4060

Email | aadv@rice.edu

ADDRESS

Office of Academic Advising MS-529

Rice University, Ley Student Center, Suite 132

6100 Main Street

Houston, TX 77005