Major Advisors

(last updated 08/12/2022)

Major advisors are faculty advisors who represent their respective academic departments or disciplines and are intimately familiar with specific major or minor requirements. They have the most current knowledge of discipline-specific information such as:

  • course offerings
  • curricular sequence
  • independent study projects
  • research and internships
  • professional organizations
  • current trends
  • graduate schools
  • careers related to the field

We strongly recommend that students communicate frequently with major and minor advisors, even prior to declaring a major or minor, so they can make informed decisions. Feel free to reach out to any major or minor advisor at any time. After declaring a major or minor, we encourage you to meet with your major and minor advisors each semester.

Major Advisors 2022-2023

Ancient Mediterranean Civilizations
Sophie Crawford-Brown scb@rice.edu 122 Herring Hall
Anthropology
Mary Prendergrast mary@rice.edu 590 Sewall Hall
Architecture
Reto Geiser reto.geiser@rice.edu 223 Anderson Hall
Art History
Lida Oukaderova fld@rice.edu 251B Herring Hall
Asian Studies
Steven Lewis swlewis@rice.edu 224 Baker Hall
Astronomy & Astrophysics
Patrick Hartigan hartigan@rice.edu 350 Herman Brown Hall
Bioengineering
Sabia Abidi sabia.z.abidi@rice.edu B24 Ryon Engineering Laboratories
Bilal Ghosn bghosn@rice.edu 231 BioScience Research Collaborative
James Long james.long@rice.edu
Renata Ramos renata.ramos@rice.edu 1016 Duncan Hall
Robert Raphael rraphael@rice.edu 719 BioScience Research Collaborative
Laura Segatori segatori@rice.edu 313 BioScience Research Collaborative
BioSciences: Biochemistry, Cell Biology & Genetics, Integrative Biology
Prospectives, Freshmen, and Undeclared Sophomores
Caroline Ajo-Franklin caroline.ajo-franklin@rice.edu 319 Keck Hall
Beth Beason-Abmayr bbeason@rice.edu 102C Anderson Biological Laboratories
Matthew Bennett matthew.bennett@rice.edu 306 Keck Hall
Dan Carson daniel.d.carson@rice.edu 1023 BioScience Research Collaborative
Jamie Catanese djc98@rice.edu 103A Anderson Biological Laboratories
Dereth Phillips derethp@rice.edu 101C Anderson Biological Laboratories
Cana Ross cana.ross@rice.edu 101A Anderson Biological Laboratories
Declared Majors (Based on Last Name)
Kate Beckingham (A-H) kate@rice.edu W130 George R. Brown Hall
Jamie Catanese (I-P) djc98@rice.edu 103A Anderson Biological Laboratories
Charles Stewart (Q-Z) crs@rice.edu W104 George R. Brown Hall
BioSciences: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Prospectives, Freshmen, and Undeclared Sophomores
Cassidy Johnson cbj5145@rice.edu 104A Anderson Biological Laboratories
Evan Siemann siemann@rice.edu E200D George R. Brown Hall
Scott Solomon scott.solomon@rice.edu 103D Anderson Biological Laboratories
Declared Majors
Scott Solomon scott.solomon@rice.edu 103D Anderson Biological Laboratories
Business
Natalia Piqueira natalia.piqueira@rice.edu 264 McNair Hall
Duane Windsor (Management Concentration) odw@rice.edu 227 McNair Hall
Yuhang Xing (Finance Concentration) yxing@rice.edu 342 McNair Hall
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Walter Chapman wgchap@rice.edu B07 Herman Brown Hall
Ken Cox krcox@rice.edu 2082 Duncan Hall
Amanda Marciel amanda.marciel@rice.edu 231 Space Science & Technology
Gerry McGlamery gerald.mcglamery@rice.edu 2087 Duncan Hall
Tom Senftle tsenftle@rice.edu 219 Space Science & Technology
Ross Thyer ross.thyer@rice.edu 617 BioScience Research Collaborative
Kyriacos Zygourakis kyzy@rice.edu W200J George R. Brown Hall
Chemical Physics
Bruce Weisman weisman@rice.edu W103 George R. Brown Hall
Chemistry
Kristi Kincaid
(Baker College)
kristi.kincaid@rice.edu 242 Dell Butcher Hall
Samantha Yruegas
(Brown College)
samantha.yruegas@rice.edu
Matt Jones
(Duncan College)
mrj@rice.edu E206 George R. Brown Hall
Jeffrey Hartgerink
(Hanszen College)
jdh@rice.edu 319 BioScience Research Collaborative
Bruce Weisman
(Jones College)
weisman@rice.edu W103 George R. Brown Hall
Angel Marti-Arbona
(Lovett College)
aam4@rice.edu 320B Dell Butcher Hall
Laszlo Kurti
(Martel College)
kurti.laszlo@rice.edu 377 Bioscience Research Collaborative
Julian West
(McMurtry College)
jgwest@rice.edu 325 BioScience Research Collaborative
Lesa Tran
(Sid Richardson College)
lesa@rice.edu 173 BioScience Research Collaborative
Raul Sanchez
(Wiess College)
raulhs@rice.edu
Han Xiao
(Will Rice College)
han.xiao@rice.edu 317 Bioscience Research Collaborative
Civil and Environmental Engineering

Mason Tomson
BSCE Area 1

BA - Certifying Advisor, ENVI Track

mtomson@rice.edu 120 Keck Hall
Phillip Bedient
BSCE - ENVI Certifying Advisor, BSCE Area 2
bedient@rice.edu 116 Keck Hall

Jamie Padgett
BSCE - CIVI Certifiying Advisor, BSCE Area 3

BA - Certifying Advisor, CIVI Track)

jamie.padgett@rice.edu 213 Ryon Engineering Laboratories
Leonardo Duenas-Osorio
BSCE Area 4
leonardo.duenas-osorio@rice.edu 212 Ryon Engineering Laboratories
Classical Studies
Hilary Mackie mackie@rice.edu 233 Rayzor Hall
Cognitive Sciences
Mike Byrne byrne@rice.edu 450A Sewall Hall
Suzanne Kemmer kemmer@rice.edu 209 Herring Hall
Jonathan Manker jonathan.manker@rice.edu 207 Herring Hall
Bart Moore bart4@rice.edu 480 Sewall Hall
Timothy Schroeder timothy.a.schroeder@rice.edu 224A Humanities
Computational and Applied Mathematics
Jesse Chan jesse.chan@rice.edu 3023 Duncan Hall
Andrew Schaefer andrew.schaefer@rice.edu 2036 Duncan Hall
Computer Science
Major Advising Based on Last Name
Risa Myers
(Aa - Bz)
risamyers@rice.edu 2062 Duncan Hall
Rodrigo Ferreira
(Ca - Da)
rf29@rice.edu 3052 Duncan Hall
Scott Cutler
(Db - Gz)
cutler@rice.edu
Dave Johnson
(Ha - Ka)
dbj@rice.edu 3007 Duncan Hall
Ang Chen
(Kb - Le)
angchen@rice.edu 3004 Duncan Hall
Rebecca Schreib
(Lf - Mz)
rjs7@rice.edu 2064 Duncan Hall
Stephen Wong
(Na - Qz)
swong@rice.edu 3102 Duncan Hall
Todd Treangen
(Ra - Si)
treangen@rice.edu 3099 Duncan Hall
Alan Cox
(Sj - Wh)
alc@rice.edu 3009 Duncan Hall
Devika Subramanian
(Wi - Zz)
devika@rice.edu 3094 Duncan Hall
Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Science
Sylvia Dee
(Environmental)
sylvia.dee@rice.edu 313 Keith-Wiess Geological Laboratories
Melodie French
(Geoscience, Planetary)
mefrench@rice.edu 203 Keith-Wiess Geological Laboratories
Economics & Mathematical Economic Analysis
Maria Bejan maria.bejan@rice.edu 426 Kraft Hall
James Brown jbrown@rice.edu 433 Kraft Hall
James DeNicco james.denicco@rice.edu 437 Kraft Hall
Mahmoud El-Gamal elgamal@rice.edu 429 Kraft Hall
Yunmi Kong Yunmi.Kong@rice.edu 411 Kraft Hall
Mallesh Pai mallesh.pai@rice.edu 414 Kraft Hall
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Joseph Cavallaro cavallar@rice.edu 3042 Duncan Hall
Caleb Kemere caleb.kemere@rice.edu 971 BioScience Research Collaborative
Santiago Segarra segarra@rice.edu 2047 Duncan Hall
John Seymour seymourjp@rice.edu 876 BioScience Research Collaborative
Ray Simar ray.simar@rice.edu 2099 Duncan Hall
Peter Varman pjv@rice.edu 2022 Duncan Hall
Gary Woods gary.woods@rice.edu 2097 Duncan Hall
English
Lacy Johnson lj14@rice.edu 241 Herring Hall
Environmental Science
Prospectives, Freshmen, and Undeclared Sophomores
Amy Dunham (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology) aed4@rice.edu 253 Anderson Biological Laboratories
Evan Siemann (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology) siemann@rice.edu E200D George R. Brown Hall
Sylvia Dee (Earth Science) sylvia.dee@rice.edu 313 Keith-Wiess Geological Laboratories
Carrie Masiello (Earth Science) masiello@rice.edu 207 Keith-Wiess Geological Laboratories
Declared Majors/Minors
Adrienne Correa (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology) adrienne.correa@rice.edu 221 Anderson Biological Lab
Amy Dunham (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology) aed4@rice.edu 253 Anderson Biological Lab
Sylvia Dee (Earth Science) sylvia.dee@rice.edu 313 Keith-Wiess Geological Laboratories
Carrie Masiello (Earth Science) masiello@rice.edu 207 Keith-Wiess Geological Laboratories

European Studies
Philip Wood prw@rice.edu 212 Rayzor Hall
French Studies
Philip Wood prw@rice.edu 212 Rayzor Hall
German Studies
Astrid Oesmann astrid.oesmann@rice.edu 327 Rayzor Hall
History
Aysha Pollnitz aysha.pollnitz@rice.edu 310 Humanities
Kinesiology
Cassandra Diep
(Health Sciences)
csdiep@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Heidi Perkins
(Health Sciences)
hperkins@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Laura Kabiri
(Sports Medicine and Exercise Physiology)
laura.kabiri@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Amanda Perkins-Ball
(Sports Medicine and Exercise Physiology)
aperkinsball@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Augusto Rodriguez
(Sports Medicine and Exercise Physiology)
axr1@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Latin American Studies
Sophie Esch sophie.esch@rice.edu 333 Rayzor Hall
Linguistics
Suzanne Kemmer kemmer@rice.edu 209 Herring Hall
Materials Science and Nanoengineering
Yimo Han yh76@rice.edu E208 George R. Brown Hall
Hanyu Zhu
hz67@rice.edu E200J George R. Brown Hall
Mathematics
Zhiyong Gao zgao@rice.edu 428 Herman Brown Hall
Frank Jones fjones@rice.edu 448 Herman Brown Hall
Betul Orcan Ekmekci orcan@rice.edu 440 Herman Brown Hall
Stephen Semmes semmes@rice.edu 414 Herman Brown Hall
Stephen Wang sswang@rice.edu 410 Herman Brown Hall
Mechanical Engineering
Peter Lillehoj lillehoj@rice.edu 675 Bioscience Research Collaborative
David Trevas dat7@rice.edu 3129 Duncan Hall
Medieval and Early Modern Studies
Maya Soifer Irish maya.s.irish@rice.edu 311 Humanities
Music
Geoffrey Scott geoffrey.scott@rice.edu 2235 Alice Pratt Brown Hall
Neuroscience
Prospectives, Freshmen, and Undeclared Sophomores
Jon Flynn flynn@rice.edu 103B Anderson Biological Laboratories
Nele Lefeldt nele.lefeldt@rice.edu 104C Anderson Biological Laboratories
Cana Ross cana.ross@rice.edu 101A Anderson Biological Laboratories
Declared Majors
Jon Flynn flynn@rice.edu 103B Anderson Biological Laboratories
Nele Lefeldt nele.lefeldt@rice.edu 104C Anderson Biological Laboratories
Peter Lwigale lwigale@rice.edu 371 Anderson Biological Laboratories

Operations Research
Andrew Schaefer andrew.schaefer@rice.edu 2036 Duncan Hall
Philosophy
George Sher (Fall 2022) gsher@rice.edu 208 Humanities
Charles Siewert (Spring 2022) siewert@rice.edu 223 Humanities
Physics
Stephen Bradshaw
(Overload Petitions)
stephen.bradshaw@rice.edu 302 Herman Brown Hall
Stan Dodds
(General Physics)
dodds@rice.edu 215 Herzstein Hall
Douglas Natelson
(Applied Physics)
natelson@rice.edu 301 Brockman Hall
Ching-Hwa Kiang
(Biophysics)
chkiang@rice.edu 226 Brockman Hall
Frank Toffoletto
(Computational Physics)
toffo@rice.edu 362 Herman Brown Hall
Political Science
Leslie Schwindt-Bayer schwindt@rice.edu 107 Herzstein Hall
Psychological Sciences
Bryan Denny
(Psi Chi, Undergraduate Research Liaison to TMC)

bryan.denny@rice.edu

761 BioScience Research Collaborative

Eden King
(Honors)
eden.b.king@rice.edu 429D Sewall Hall
Sandra Parsons
(Major Advisor, Major Declarations)
svp2@rice.edu 452 Sewall Hall
Carissa Zimmerman
(Major Advisor, Major Declarations)
caz3@rice.edu 472 Sewall Hall
Religion
David Cook dbcook@rice.edu 211 Humanities
Social Policy Analysis
Melissa Marschall marschal@rice.edu 102 Herzstein Hall
Sociology
Sergio Chavez sergio.chavez@rice.edu 380 Sewall Hall
Spanish and Portuguese
Esther Fernández ef14@rice.edu 228 Rayzor Hall
Sport Analytics
Clark Haptonstall hapton@rice.edu 205A Tudor Fieldhouse
Sport Management
Clark Haptonstall hapton@rice.edu 205A Tudor Fieldhouse
Statistics
Elizabeth McGuffey elizabeth.mcguffey@rice.edu 111 Maxfield Hall
Study of Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Emily Houlik-Ritchey emily.houlik-ritchey@rice.edu 235 Herring Hall
Visual and Dramatic Arts
Charles Dove
(Film/Photography)
cdove@rice.edu 552 Sewall Hall
Lisa Lapinski
(Studio/Visual Art)
lisa.lapinski@rice.edu 258 Sewall Hall
Christina Keefe
(Theater)
ck1@rice.edu 103B Hamman Hall

HOURS

Monday - Friday

8:30 am - 12:00 pm

1:00 pm - 5:00 pm 

 

Phone | 713.348.4060

Email | aadv@rice.edu

ADDRESS

Office of Academic Advising MS-529

Rice University, Ley Student Center, Suite 132

6100 Main Street

Houston, TX 77005