Major Advisors

Major Advisors 2021-2022

Ancient Mediterranean Civilizations
Sophie Crawford-Brown scb@rice.edu 122 Herring Hall
Anthropology
Gökçe Günel gg15@rice.edu 584 Sewall Hall
Architecture
Reto Geiser reto.geiser@rice.edu 223 Anderson Hall
Art History
Lida Oukaderova fld@rice.edu 251B Herring Hall
Asian Studies
Steven Lewis swlewis@rice.edu 224 Baker Hall
Astrophysics & Astronomy
Patrick Hartigan hartigan@rice.edu 350 Herman Brown Hall
Christopher Johns-Krull cmj@rice.edu 352 Herman Brown Hall
Bioengineering
Sabia Abidi sza2@rice.edu B24 Ryon Engineering Lab
Bilal Ghosn bghosn@rice.edu 231 BioScience Research Collaborative
David Li davidli@rice.edu 765 BioScience Research Collaborative
Renata Ramos renata.ramos@rice.edu 1016 Duncan Hall
Robert Raphael rraphael@rice.edu 719 BioScience Research Collaborative
Laura Segatori segatori@rice.edu 313 BioScience Research Collaborative
Biosciences - Concentrations: Biochemistry; Cell Biology & Genetics; Integrative Biology
Prospectives, Freshmen, and Undeclared Sophomores
Caroline Ajo-Franklin caroline.ajo-franklin@rice.edu 319 Keck Hall
Beth Beason-Abmayr bbeason@rice.edu Anderson Biological Laboratories 102C
Matthew Bennett matthew.bennett@rice.edu 306 Keck Hall
Dan Carson daniel.d.carson@rice.edu 1023 BioSciences Research Collab.
Jamie Catanese djc98@rice.edu Anderson Biological Laboratories 103A
Alma Novotny novotnya@rice.edu Anderson Biological Laboratories 101A
Dereth Phillips derethp@rice.edu Anderson Biological Laboratories 101C
Declared Majors (Based on Last Name)
Kate Beckingham (A-H) kate@rice.edu W130 George R. Brown Hall
Dave Caprette (I-P) caprette@rice.edu Anderson Biological Laboratories 102B
Charles Stewart (Q-Z) crs@rice.edu W104 George R. Brown Hall
Biosciences - Concentrations: Ecology & Evolutionary Biology; Integrative Biology
Prospectives, Freshmen, and Undeclared Sophomores
Evan Siemann siemann@rice.edu E200D George R. Brown Hall
Scott Solomon scott.solomon@rice.edu Anderson Biological Laboratories 103D
Declared Majors
Dave Caprette caprette@rice.edu 102B Anderson Biological Laboratories
Scott Solomon scott.solomon@rice.edu Anderson Biological Laboratories 103D
Business
Alex Butler alex.butler@rice.edu 357 McNair Hall
Natalia Piqueira natalia.piqueira@rice.edu 234 McNair Hall
Danielle Riley danielle.n.riley@rice.edu 265 McNair Hall
Duane Windsor (Management Concentration Advisor) odw@rice.edu 227 McNair Hall
Yuhang Xing (Finance Concentration Advisor) yxing@rice.edu 342 McNair Hall
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Ken Cox krcox@rice.edu 2082 Duncan Hall
Walter Chapman wgchap@rice.edu B07 Herman Brown Hall
Marya Cokar marya.cokar@rice.edu 108B Keck Hall
Gerry McGlamery gerald.mcglamery@rice.edu 2087 Duncan Hall
Tom Senftle tsenftle@rice.edu 219 Space Science & Technology Building
Ross Thyer ross.thyer@rice.edu 617 Biosciences Research Collaborative.
Kyriacos Zygourakis kyzy@rice.edu W200J George R. Brown Hall
Chemical Physics
Jason Hafner hafner@rice.edu 262 Brockman Hall
Bruce Weisman weisman@rice.edu W103 George R. Brown Hall
Chemistry
Kristi Kincaid
(Baker College)
kristi.kincaid@rice.edu 242 Dell Butcher Hall
Zach Ball
(Brown College)
zb1@rice.edu 327 BioScience Research Collab.
Matt Jones
(Duncan College)
mrj@rice.edu E206 George R. Brown Hall
Jeff Hartgerink
(Hanszen College)
jdh@rice.edu 319 Bioscience Research Collab.
Bruce Weisman
(Jones College)
weisman@rice.edu W103 George R. Brown Hall
Angel Marti-Arbona
(Lovett College)
aam4@rice.edu 320B Dell Butcher Hall
Laszlo Kurti
(Martel College)
kurti.laszlo@rice.edu 377 Bioscience Research Collab.
Julian West
(McMurtry College)
jgwest@rice.edu 325 BioScience Research Collab.
Lesa Tran
(Sid Richardson College)
lesa@rice.edu 173 BioScience Research Collab.
Anna-Karin Gustavsson
(Wiess College)
anna-karin.gustavsson@rice.edu 311 Space Science & Tech. Bldg.
Han Xiao
(Will Rice College)
han.xiao@rice.edu 317 Bioscience Research Collab.
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Mason Tomson
(BSCE Area 1)
mtomson@rice.edu 120 Keck Hall
Phillip Bedient
(BSCE - ENVI Certifying Advisor, BSCE Area 2)
bedient@rice.edu 116 Keck Hall
Satish Nagarajaiah
(BSCE - CIVI Certifiying Advisor, BSCE Area 3)
nagaraja@rice.edu 213 Ryon Lab
Leonardo Duenas-Osorio
(BSCE Area 4)
leonardo.duenas-osorio@rice.edu 212 Ryon Lab
Mason Tomson
(BA - Certifying Advisor, ENVI Track)
mtomson@rice.edu 120 Keck Hall
Satish Nagarajaiah
(BA - Certifying Advisor, CIVI Track)
nagaraja@rice.edu 213 Ryon Lab
Classical Studies
Hilary Mackie mackie@rice.edu 233 Rayzor Hall
Cognitive Sciences
Mike Byrne byrne@rice.edu 450A Sewall Hall
Simon Fischer-Baum sjf2@rice.edu 771 BioScience Research Collaborative
Ozge Gurcanli og3@rice.edu 482 Sewall Hall
Suzanne Kemmer kemmer@rice.edu 482 Sewall Hall
Bart Moore bart4@rice.edu 480 Sewall Hall
Carissa Zimmerman caz3@rice.edu 472 Sewall Hall
Computational and Applied Mathematics
Jesse Chan jesse.chan@rice.edu 2007 Duncan Hall
Andrew Schaefer andrew.schaefer@rice.edu 2036 Duncan Hall
Computer Science
Major Advising Based on Last Name
Risa Myers
(Aa - Da)
risamyers@rice.edu 2062 Duncan Hall
Scott Cutler
(Db - Gz)
cutler@rice.edu 2063 Duncan Hall
Dave Johnson
(Ha - Ki)
dbj@rice.edu 3007 Duncan Hall
Rebecca Smith
(Kj - Mz)
rjs@rice.edu 2064 Duncan Hall
Stephen Wong
(Na - Sh)
swong@rice.edu 3102 Duncan Hall
Alan Cox
(Si - Wh)
alc@rice.edu 3009 Duncan Hall
Devika Subramanian
(Wi - Zz)
devika@rice.edu 3094 Duncan Hall
Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Science
Sylvia Dee
(Environmental)
sylvia.dee@rice.edu 313 Keith-Wiess Geological Lab
Helge Gonnermann
(Geoscience, Planetary)
helge@rice.edu 219 Keith-Wiess Geological Lab
Economics & Mathematical Economic Analysis
Maria Bejan maria.bejan@rice.edu 426 Kraft Hall
Nina Bobkova nina.bobkova@rice.edu 416 Kraft Hall
James Brown jbrown@rice.edu 433 Kraft Hall
James DeNicco james.denicco@rice.edu 437 Kraft Hall
Mahmoud El-Gamal elgamal@rice.edu 429 Kraft Hall
Mallesh Pai mallesh.pai@rice.edu 414 Kraft Hall
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Joseph Cavallaro cavallar@rice.edu 3042 Duncan Hall
Caleb Kemere caleb.kemere@rice.edu 971 BioScience Research Collaborative
Santiago Segarra segarra@rice.edu 2047 Duncan Hall
John Seymour seymourjp@rice.edu 876 BioScience Research Collaborative
Ray Simar ray.simar@rice.edu 2099 Duncan Hall
Peter Varman pjv@rice.edu 2022 Duncan Hall
Gary Woods gary.woods@rice.edu 2097 Duncan Hall
Ching Xie chongxie@rice.edu 871 BioScience Research Collaborative
Joseph Young joseph.young@rice.edu 2098 Duncan Hall
English
Krista Comer kcomer@rice.edu 317 Herring Hall
Environmental Science
Prospectives, Freshmen, and Undeclared Sophomores
Amy Dunham aed4@rice.edu 253 Anderson Biological Lab
Evan Siemann siemann@rice.edu E200D George R. Brown Hall
Declared Majors/Minors
Adrienne Correa adrienne.correa@rice.edu 221 Anderson Biological Lab
Amy Dunham aed4@rice.edu 253 Anderson Biological Lab

European Studies
Philip Wood prw@rice.edu 212 Rayzor Hall
French Studies
Deborah Nelson-Campbell dnelson@rice.edu 224 Rayzor Hall
German Studies
Astrid Oesmann astrid.oesmann@rice.edu 327 Rayzor Hall
History
Paula Sanders sanders@rice.edu 329 Humanities
Kinesiology
Cassandra Diep
(Health Sciences)
csdiep@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Heidi Perkins
(Health Sciences)
hperkins@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Laura Kabiri
(Sports Medicine and Exercise Physiology)
laura.kabiri@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Amanda Perkins-Ball
(Sports Medicine and Exercise Physiology)
aperkinsball@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Augusto Rodriguez
(Sports Medicine and Exercise Physiology)
axr1@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Latin American Studies
Jose Aranda aranda@rice.edu 309 Rayzor Hall
Linguistics
Robert Englebretson reng@rice.edu 206 Herring Hall
Materials Science and Nanoengineering
Peter Loos ploos@rice.edu 215 Mechanical Engineering Bldg.
Hanyu Zhu
hz67@rice.edu E200J George R. Brown Hall
Mathematics
Zhiyong Gao zgao@rice.edu 428 Herman Brown Hall
Frank Jones fjones@rice.edu 448 Herman Brown Hall
Betul Orcan orcan@rice.edu 440 Herman Brown Hall
Stephen Semmes semmes@rice.edu 414 Herman Brown Hall
Stephen Wang sswang@rice.edu 410 Herman Brown Hall
Mechanical Engineering
Matt Elliott me26@rice.edu 230 Mechanical Engineering Bldg.
Peter Lillehoj lillehoj@rice.edu 675 Biosciences Research Collaborative
Medieval and Early Modern Studies
Maya Soifer Irish maya.s.irish@rice.edu 311 Humanities Building
Music
Geoffrey Scott geoffrey.scott@rice.edu 2235 Alice Pratt Brown Hall
Neuroscience
Prospectives, Freshmen, and Undeclared Sophomores
Jon Flynn flynn@rice.edu 103B Anderson Biological Lab
Nele Lefeldt nele.lefeldt@rice.edu 104C Anderson Biological Lab
Declared Majors
David Caprette caprette@rice.edu 102B Anderson Biological Lab
Jon Flynn flynn@rice.edu 103B Anderson Biological Lab
Nele Lefeldt nele.lefeldt@rice.edu 104C Anderson Biological Lab
Peter Lwigale lwigale@rice.edu 371 Anderson Biological Lab

Philosophy
Charles Siewert siewert@rice.edu 223 Humanities
Physics
Stan Dodds
(General Physics)
dodds@rice.edu 215 Herzstein Hall
Paul Padley
(General Physics)
padley@rice.edu 232A Herman Brown Hall
Jason Hafner
(Chemical Physics & Overload Petitions)
hafner@rice.edu 262 Brockman Hall
Douglas Natelson
(Applied Physics)
natelson@rice.edu 301 Brockman Hall
Ching-Hwa Kiang
(Biophysics)
chkiang@rice.edu 226 Brockman Hall
Frank Toffoletto
(Computation Physics)
toffo@rice.edu 362 Herman Brown Hall
Political Science
Ric Stoll stoll@rice.edu 120 Herzstein Hall
Psychological Sciences
Carissa Zimmerman
(Major Advisor, Major Declarations, Undergraduate Research Liaison to TMC for Fall)
caz3@rice.edu 472 Sewall Hall
Sandy Parsons
(Major Advisor, Major Declarations, Psi Chi for Fall)
svp2@rice.edu 452 Sewall Hall
Eden King
(Honors)
eden.b.king@rice.edu 429D Sewall Hall
Danielle King
(Undergraduate Research Liaison to the TMC for Spring)
danielle.d.king@rice.edu 429C Sewall Hall
Bryan Denny
(Psi Chi for Spring)
bryan.denny@rice.edu 482 Sewall Hall
Özge Gürcanlı og3@rice.edu 482 Sewall Hall
Religion
Niki Clements niki.clements@rice.edu 232 Humanities
Social Policy Analysis
Melissa Marschall marschal@rice.edu 102 Herzstein Hall
Sociology
Sergio Chavez sergio.chavez@rice.edu 380 Sewall Hall
Spanish and Portuguese
Esther Fernández ef14@rice.edu 228 Rayzor Hall
Sport Management
Clark Haptonstall hapton@rice.edu 205A Tudor Fieldhouse
Statistics
Elizabeth McGuffey elizabeth.mcguffey@rice.edu 111 Maxfield Hall
Study of Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Emily Houlik-Ritchey emily.houlik-ritchey@rice.edu 235 Herring Hall
Visual and Dramatic Arts
Charles Dove
(Film/Photography)
cdove@rice.edu 552 Sewall Hall
Lisa Lapinski
(Studio/Visual Art)
lisa.lapinski@rice.edu 258 Sewall Hall
Christina Keefe
(Theater)
ck1@rice.edu 103B Hamman Hall

Office | Ley Student Center, Suite 132

Click here to schedule an appointment with an OAA advisor.

Phone | 713.348.4060, 713.348.2637

Email | aadv@rice.edu