Major Advisors

Major Advisors 2019-2020

Ancient Mediterranean Civilizations
Michael Maas maas@rice.edu 306 Humanities Building
Anthropology
Jeffrey Fleisher jfleisher@rice.edu 582 Sewall Hall
Architecture
Reto Geiser reto.geiser@rice.edu 223 Anderson Hall
Art History
Fabiola Lopez-Duran fld@rice.edu 120 Herring Hall
Asian Studies
Haejin Koh haejin.e.koh@rice.edu 207 Mechanical Laboratory
Steven Lewis swlewis@rice.edu 224 Baker Hall
Astrophysics & Astronomy
Patrick Hartigan hartigan@rice.edu 350 Herman Brown Hall
Christopher Johns-Krull cmj@rice.edu 352 Herman Brown Hall
Bioengineering
Bilal Ghosn bghosn@rice.edu 231 BioScience Research Collab.
Sabia Abidi sabia.z.a@rice.edu 201 Mechanical Lab
Michael Diehl diehl@rice.edu 515 Bioscience Research Collab.
Renata Ramos renata.ramos@rice.edu 111A Ryon Engineering Lab
Ka-Yiu San ksan@rice.edu 815 Bioscience Research Collab.
Gang Bao gang.bao@rice.edu 413 Bioscience Research Collab.
Biosciences - Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Prospectives, Freshmen, and Undeclared Sophomores
Evan Siemann siemann@rice.edu E200D George R. Brown Hall
Beth Beason-Abmayr bbeason@rice.edu 08A Herman Brown Hall
Matthew Bennett matthew.bennett@rice.edu 301C Keck Hall
Jamie Catanese djc98@rice.edu 05 Herman Brown Hall
Alma Novotny novotnya@rice.edu 01 Herman Brown Hall
Daniel Carson daniel.d.carson@rice.edu 1023 BioSciences Research Collab.
Dereth Phillips derethp@rice.edu 03 Herman Brown Hall
Declared Majors (Based on Last Name)
Kate Beckingham (A-H) kate@rice.edu W130 George R. Brown Hall
Dave Caprette (I-P) caprette@rice.edu 08B Herman Brown Hall
Charles Stewart (Q-Z) crs@rice.edu W104 George R. Brown Hall
Biosciences - Biological Sciences

Biological Sciences majors may select any of the BioSciences Advisors from Biochemistry and Cell Biology or from Ecology and Evolutionary Biology.

Biosciences - Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Scott Solomon scott.solomon@rice.edu 135C Anderson Biological Lab
Chemical Engineering
Ken Cox krcox@rice.edu B230 Abercrombie
Walter Chapman wgchap@rice.edu B241 Abercrombie
Francisco Vargas fmv4312@rice.edu B228 Abercrombie
Kyriacos Zygourakis kyzy@rice.edu B227 Abercrombie
Marya Cokar marya.cokar@rice.edu B226 Abercrombie
Tom Senftle tsenftle@rice.edu 219 Space Science Technology Bldg.
Chemical Physics
Bruce Weisman weisman@rice.edu W103 George R. Brown Hall
Jason Hafner hafner@rice.edu 262 Brockman Hall
Chemistry
Kristi Kincaid
(Baker College)
kristi.kincaid@rice.edu 242 Dell Butcher Hall
Zach Ball
(Brown College)
zb1@rice.edu E200C George R. Brown Hall
Matt Jones
(Duncan College)
mrj@rice.edu 206 George R. Brown Hall
Jeff Hartgerink
(Hanszen College)
jdh@rice.edu 319 Bioscience Research Collab.
Bruce Weisman
(Jones College)
weisman@rice.edu 111D Space Sciences
Angel Marti-Arbona
(Lovett College)
aam4@rice.edu 320B Dell Butcher Hall
Laszlo Kurti
(Martel College)
kurti.laszlo@rice.edu 377 Bioscience Research Collab.
Seiichi Matsuda
(McMurtry College)
matsuda@rice.edu W300E George R. Brown Hall
Lon Wilson
(Sid Richardson College)
durango@rice.edu 353 Dell Butcher Hall
Christy Landes
(Wiess College)
cflandes@rice.edu 352 Dell Butcher Hall
Han Xiao
(Will Rice College)
han.xiao@rice.edu 317 Bioscience Research Collab.
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Mason Tomson
(BSCE Area 1)
mtomson@rice.edu 120 Keck Hall
Phillip Bedient
(BSCE - ENVI Certifying Advisor, BSCE Area 2)
bedient@rice.edu 113 Mech Lab
Satish Nagarajaiah
(BSCE - CIVI Certifiying Advisor, BSCE Area 3)
nagaraja@rice.edu 213 Ryon Lab
Leonardo Duenas-Osorio
(BSCE Area 4)
leonardo.duenas-osorio@rice.edu 212 Ryon Lab
Mason Tomson
(BA - Certifying Advisor, ENVI Track)
mtomson@rice.edu 120 Keck Hall
Satish Nagarajaiah
(BA - Certifying Advisor, CIVI Track)
nagaraja@rice.edu 213 Ryon Lab
Classical Studies
Hilary Mackie mackie@rice.edu 233 Rayzor Hall
Cognitive Science
Suzanne Kemmer kemmer@rice.edu 209 Herring Hall
Carissa Zimmerman caz3@rice.edu 472 Sewall Hall
Mike Byrne byrne@rice.edu 450A Sewall Hall
Simon Fischer-Baum sjf2@rice.edu 480 Sewall Hall
Ozge Gurcanli og3@rice.edu 482 Sewall Hall
Computational and Applied Mathematics
Andrew Schaefer andrew.schaefer@rice.edu 2036 Duncan Hall
Jesse Chan jesse.chan@rice.edu 3023 Duncan Hall
Keith Cooper keith@rice.edu 2065 Duncan Hall
Computer Science
Major Advising Based on Last Name
Risa Myers
(Aa - Da)
risamyers@rice.edu 2062 Duncan Hall
Scott Cutler
(Db - Gz)
cutler@rice.edu 2063 Duncan Hall
David Johnson
(Ha - Ki)
dbj@rice.edu 3007 Duncan Hall
Swarat Chaudhuri
(Kj - Mz)
swarat.chaudhuri@rice.edu 3103 Duncan Hall
Stephen Wong
(Na - Sh)
swong@rice.edu 3102 Duncan Hall
Alan Cox
(Si - Wh)
alc@rice.edu 3009 Duncan Hall
Devika Subramanian
(Wi - Zz)
devika@rice.edu 3094 Duncan Hall
Earth Science
Andre Droxler
(Geology, Environmental)
andre@rice.edu 205 Keith-Wiess Geological Lab
Julia Morgan
(Geology, Geochemistry, Geophysics)
morganj@rice.edu 315 Keith-Wiess Geological Lab
Jeffrey Nittrouer
(Geology, Environmental)
jan6@rice.edu 221 Keith-Wiess Geological Lab
Economics & Mathematical Economic Analysis
Nina Bobkova nina.bobkova@rice.edu TBA
Maria Bejan maria.bejan@rice.edu 251 Baker Hall
James Brown jbrown@rice.edu 250 Baker Hall
Mahmoud El-Gamal elgamal@rice.edu 240 Baker Hall
Peter Hartley hartley@rice.edu 262 Baker Hall
Electrical Engineering
Joseph Cavallaro cavallar@rice.edu 3042 Duncan Hall
Ray Simar ray.simar@rice.edu A208 Abercrombie Lab
Peter Varman pjv@rice.edu 2022 Duncan Hall
Gary Woods gary.woods@rice.edu A209 Abercrombie Lab
Santiago Segarra segarra@rice.edu 2047 Duncan Hall
English
Sarah Ellenzweig sellenz@rice.edu 330 Herring Hall
Environmental Science
Andre Droxler
(Earth Science Concentration)
andre@rice.edu 205F Geology Lab
Scott Solomon
(Ecology/Evolutionary Biology Concentration)
scott.solomon@rice.edu 135C Anderson Biological Lab
European Studies
Philip Wood prw@rice.edu 212 Rayzor Hall
French Studies
Deborah Nelson-Campbell dnelson@rice.edu 224 Rayzor Hall
German Studies
Astrid Oesmann astrid.oesmann@rice.edu 327 Rayzor Hall
History
Lisa Balabanlilar balabanlilar@rice.edu 309 Humanities
Kinesiology
Heidi Perkins
(Health Sciences)
hperkins@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Cassandra Diep
(Health Sciences)
csdiep@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Augusto Rodriguez
(Sports Medicine)
axr1@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Amanda Perkins-Ball
(Sports Medicine)
aperkinsball@rice.edu S203 Tudor Fieldhouse
Latin American Studies
Jose Aranda aranda@rice.edu 309 Rayzor Hall
Linguistics
Suzanne Kemmer kemmer@rice.edu 209 Herring Hall
Managerial Studies
Mallesh Pai mallesh.pai@rice.edu 272 Baker Hall
Materials Science and Nanoengineering
Zack Cordero
(A-G)
zachary.cordero@rice.edu E208 George R. Brown Hall
Ned Thomas
(H-O)
elt@rice.edu E200J George R. Brown Hall
Peter Loos
(P-Z)
ploos@rice.edu 215 Mechanical Engineering Bldg.
Mathematics
Frank Jones fjones@rice.edu 448 Herman Brown Hall
Stephen Wang sswang@rice.edu 410 Herman Brown Hall
Zhiyong Gao zgao@rice.edu 416 Herman Brown Hall
Stephen Semmes semmes@rice.edu 414 Herman Brown Hall
Mechanical Engineering
Matt Elliott me26@rice.edu 230 Mechanical Engineering Bldg.
Andrew Meade meade@rice.edu 238 Mechanical Engineering Bldg.
Fathi Ghorbel ghorbel@rice.edu 205 Mechanical Engineering Bldg.
Medieval and Early Modern Studies
Peter Loewen pvloewen@rice.edu 1207 Alice Pratt Brown Hall
Music
Gary Smith gasmith@rice.edu 2229 Alice Pratt Brown Hall
Neuroscience
Behnaam Aazhang aaz@rice.edu 2017 Duncan Hall
David Caprette caprette@rice.edu 327 Anderson Biological Lab
David Dickman david.dickman@rice.edu
Simon Fischer-Baum sjf2@rice.edu 480 Sewall Hall
Jon Flynn flynn@rice.edu W102 George R. Brown Hall
Caleb Kemere caleb.kemere@rice.edu 727 BioSciences Resarch Collab.
Philosophy
Charles Siewert siewert@rice.edu 223 Humanities
Physics
Stan Dodds
(General Physics)
dodds@rice.edu 215 Herzstein Hall
Paul Padley
(General Physics)
padley@rice.edu 232A Herman Brown Hall
Jason Hafner
(Chemical Physics & Overload Petitions)
hafner@rice.edu 262 Brockman Hall
Douglas Natelson
(Applied Physics)
natelson@rice.edu 301 Brockman Hall
Ching-Hwa Kiang
(Biophysics)
chkiang@rice.edu 226 Brockman Hall
Frank Toffoletto
(Computation Physics)
toffo@rice.edu 362 Herman Brown Hall
Policy Studies
Melissa Marschall marschal@rice.edu 102 Herzstein Hall
Political Science
Leslie Schwindt-Bayer schwindt@rice.edu 107 Herzstein Hall
Psychology
Carissa Zimmerman
(Major Advisor, Major Declarations, Psi Chi)
caz3@rice.edu 472 Sewall Hall
Sandy Parsons
(Major Advisor, Major Declarations, Psi Chi)
svp2@rice.edu 452 Sewall Hall
Eden King
(Honors)
eden.b.king@rice.edu 429D Sewall Hall
Religion
Niki Clements niki.clements@rice.edu 232 Humanities
Social Policy Analysis
Melissa Marschall marschal@rice.edu 102 Herzstein Hall
Sociology
Sergio Chavez sergio.chavez@rice.edu 380 Sewall Hall
Spanish and Portuguese
Gisela Heffes gisela.heffes@rice.edu 314 Rayzor Hall
Sport Management
Clark Haptonstall hapton@rice.edu 205A Tudor Fieldhouse
Statistics
Philip Ernst philip.ernst@rice.edu 2060 Duncan Hall
Study of Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Jacqueline Couti jacqueline.couti@rice.edu 209 Rayzor Hall
Visual and Dramatic Arts
Charles Dove
(Film/Photography)
cdove@rice.edu 105 Rice Media Center
Natasha Bowdoin
(Studio/Visual Art)
nb5@rice.edu 419 Sewall Hall
Christina Keefe
(Theater)
ck1@rice.edu 205 Rice Media Center

Office | Ley Student Center, Suite 132

Phone | 713.348.4060

Email | aadv@rice.edu